2015 wrap-up, to 2016 and beyond!

tiszy-web-msj_031__medium

*Credits to ITU media for this Tiszaujvaros World Cup picture

While writing these lines, I am savoring my last days of the off season before starting a brand new 2016 season. I have been through a very busy year, completing my first year as a Senior/U23 athlete, and even though I endured some setbacks at the end of this season, I can say I’m pretty happy with how this year has unravelled. Like planned, this 2015 race calendar was all about experience, and I think we can definitely call it a success! I had some great, encouraging results that I can build upon next season and some valuable experience training with a world-caliber training environment, Jamie Turner’s squad. 2015 wasn’t all success (it can never be), but the failures are equally (if not more) important in this learning curve, and I’m pretty happy to integrate the top-150 in the ITU points list.

I’m already eager for next my season, which will definitely be exciting as I’ll try to race more World Cups (including one in Montreal!!) and a slight academic transition (to distance courses for the next Winter semester), which will bring me closer to being a full-time triathlete.

All in all, its time to make a cross on the 2015 season, learn from my successes and errors, and focus on whats to come!

Once again, I’d like to send out a HUGE thanks to all of my supporters this year, especially to my sponsors (Foliot, Saputo, Merrell, Nineteen Wetsuits, Le Suroît, Centre Chiropratique Pierrefonds, Trimes, Jogx), to my club Tri-O-Lacs, and to my national and provincial triathlon federations (including all of their support teams), Triathlon Canada and Quebec. I can’t forget to thank my awesome Coach K (and Coach J), who did a wonderful job again this year. Without them, all of this would’ve been heck of a lot harder!

On this note, best regards to all of you, and until next year,

Xavier

2015 condensed:

  • My first year as a Senior/U23 athlete
  • A season of 17 races with Continental Cups, World Cups, U23 World Championships, French Grand Prix D1
  • The longest season of my young career, spanning from January to October
  • A total of 5 months spent abroad
  • A total of 13 countries visited, with 7 new ones (Peru, Barbados, Bulgaria, Netherland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Turkey) and countless hours spent on the plane
  • A first (aborted) attempt at a WTS race
  • My career’s first two World Cup races, in Tiszaujvaros and in Alanya, taking respectively 16th and 44th place
  • A new French D1 team, Versailles triathlon
  • The end of my Cegep studies and my debut in the Accountancy program at Concordia University
  • 2 new major sponsors in Foliot Furniture and Merrell
  • 3 bursaries, thanks to the FAEQ, to the FIDA et to the Petro-Canada FACE program
  • The creation year of my Facebook athlete page, compiling as of today 321 ”likes”!
Leave a Reply

